Tag Archives: Lifetime Achievement

Annie Awards 2015

Janice Hayes Williams won the first Historic Arts Annie.

Janice Hayes Williams won the first Historic Arts Annie.

Lynn Schwartz and Barbara Klein Moss, both winners of LIterary Annies, discuss Barbara's new book "The Language of Paradise".

Lynn Schwartz and Barbara Klein Moss, both winners of Literary Annies, discuss Barbara’s new book “The Language of Paradise”.

Time is running out. There is less than one week less to “pay if forward” and nominate someone you admire in the arts or historic preservation community of Anne Arundel County for an Annie Aaward. The Arts Council of Anne Arundel County is now accepting nominations for the 2015 Annie Awards.If Nominations are lacking in a given category, the Arts Council reserves the right to postpone theAward to the following year. The Annie Awards were created in 2000 to recognize the contributions of local artists, educators, and arts patrons who reside in Anne Arundel County.
There are eight awards in eight categories: Literary Arts, Visual Arts, Historic Arts, Arts Patron, Arts Philanthropist, Performing Arts, Arts Educator and Lifetime Achievement. Nomination forms are available online at the Arts Council of Anne Arundel County website: www.acaac.org.
Many past Annie Award recipients have been artists, poets, and performers of national stature who have enriched the community by their presence. Other Annie Award recipients have quietly supported art projects and mentored students, never anticipating recognition. Past Annie recipients have included: jazz musician, the late Charlie Byrd, novelist Barbara Klein Moss, artist John Ebersberger, Maestro Jose Luis Novo, and arts patrons James and Sylvia Earl. Art educators that have been honored include: Suzanne Owens, Michael Svec, and Lori Snyder. The purpose of the Annie awards is to highlight the accomplishment of artists, educators, and art supporters to inspire and to promote the arts and historic preservation in Anne Arundel County.
Here are just a few names you may recognize: Sally Wern Comport, Patricia Barland. Jean Jackson, Celia Pearson, Bonnie Roth Anderson, Deborah Banker, Bob Levitt, J. Ernest Green, Dianna Cuatto, Hydee Schaller, Marcia Tally, Janet Luby, Maggie Sansone, Anna Greenberg, Jim and Sylvia Earl, Robert Nichols, Linnell Bowen, Donna Ware, Dennis Younger…. The deadline for submitting nominations is June 15, 2015. There is no limit on the number of people you may nominate. Multiple letters of support are encouraged.
The Arts Council of Anne Arundel County provides grants and support to over forty nonprofit organizations. Providing a resource for the cultural arts community through advocacy, funding, programming, and promotions; the Arts Council supports a variety of groups that include Maryland Hall, Anne Arundel County Trust for Preservation, Children’s Theater of Annapolis, and Londontown Symphony Orchestra. The Arts Council administers the Arts-in-Education Program serving both public and private Anne Arundel County Schools, which provides grant funding to bring performances and artists into auditoriums and classrooms.
Submit your nominations with letters of support to www.acaac.org.

Annie Award Applications Now Being Accepted.

Nominations are currently being accepted for the 2015 Annie Awards. Is there someone in your Arts or Historic Preseration organization you feel deserves recognition for outstanding accomplishments? Have you been inspired by an individual in the community who has yet to be honored with an Annie?

The award categories are: Literary Arts, Performing Arts, Visual Arts, Arts Patron, Arts Philanthropist, Arts Educator, Historic Arts, and Lifetime Achievement Award, Give the gift of your time and submit at least one nomination. Information is online at: https://www.acaac.org/programs/annie-awards/
Annies Logo2

Fred Geil was honored with  a lifetime achievement award in 2014.

Fred Geil was honored with a lifetime achievement award in 2014.