Annapolis Symphony Orchestra Masterworks I: Music to Remember

Presented by Annapolis Symphony Orchestra

Dates: September 29, 2023 - September 30, 2023 at 7:30 pm to 9:00 pm
Location: Maryland Hall
801 Chase St.
Annapolis, MD 21401
Contact: 410-263-0907
Email: [email protected]
Contact Name: Annapolis Symphony Orchestra


Masterworks I showcases the intersection of art and life. The title “Music to Remember” lends weight to the importance of using our individual and collective voices – through spoken word, art, and music – to remember history, to not repeat it, and to lend action in the achievement of social justice, democracy and peace.

We open with composer Carlos Simon’s This Land, a lush and bright piece that incorporates the national anthems of immigrants to America, representing hope and unity.

Grieg’s Piano Concerto is the only concerto Grieg completed and remains one of the most popular of the genre. World famous pianist Gabriela Montero will perform.

The ASO presents the United States première of Boris Pigovat’s “Holocaust Requiem,” in memory of the 1941 Babyn Yar massacre in Kyiv, Ukraine. The première will be performed on the 82nd anniversary of the massacre. Peter Minkler of the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra will be the featured viola soloist.


Stay in the Know. JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST


Copyright 2023 Arts Council of Anne Arundel County. All Rights Reserved.

Skip to content